UWO PRSSA Wins Big at National Conference

By: Monica Salmeri @MonicaSalmeri


Nine students represented The Dr. Julie Henderson Chapter of the Public Relations Student Society of America (PRSSA) at the PRSSA National Conference in Boston, MA from Oct. 6-10.

The students attended professional development sessions, networking opportunities and national award ceremonies. The chapter received a total of six awards including two chapter and four individual awards.

The chapter was once again recognized with the Star Chapter award, an award earned by only 10 percent of PRSSA Chapters worldwide.

PRSSA received second place in the annual National Organ Donation Awareness Competition presented by the AJF PRSSA Chapter at Rowan University. This award was based on the chapter’s Blooming Lives campaign that was completed in April, 2017. During this campaign, the chapter promoted organ donation facts on social media accounts and culminated the campaign with a flower drive. This campaign added an additional 93 people to the National Organ Donation Registry.

Individual awards were given to Katie Biersach, a senior majoring in Public Relations. These awards include the National President’s Citation and Ron Culp Scholarship for Mentorship. To be eligible for the National President’s Citation, you must possess leadership and professional skills, have a strong understanding of PRSSA and be an active member at the chapter and national level. Biersach received the Ron Culp Scholarship for Mentorship for her outstanding dedication to mentoring her peers.


“Mentoring is important because it fosters the future professionals of our industry,” Biersach said. “Personally, I have found mentors in my colleagues and professors and because of my positive experiences, I wanted to do the same for others.”

Biersach and Monica Salmeri were both awarded the PRSSA Gold Key Award. The National Gold Key honors the outstanding public relations student and leader. Winners are those who excel in their academic study of public relations, have pursued ambitious professional development opportunities and are leaders in their PRSSA chapter. Biersach and Salmeri join Heather (Wade) North, Jessica Bedore, Holly Kloth Botsford, and Hilary Stoeberl as UW Oshkosh Titans who have received this honor.

The Chapter continued to build a strong name for itself nationally at the conference and hopes to continue the award-winning tradition into the future.

Interested in joining PRSSA? Come to a meeting on Wednesdays at 5:30 in Sage 3218.




Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s