Three Students Named Finalists in Photographer’s Forum Contest

27 03 2017

By Ashley Larson (@aelarson6)

Congratulations to Katie Hanson, Crystal Knuth and Allison Tetrick for being named finalists in Photographer’s Forum’s 37th Annual College & High School Photography Contest!

Katie Hanson

katiehansonphoto

We were given our portrait assignment in Media Photo II class and I had no idea what to have as my subject, so I decided to go with my favorite subject: sports. I decided I wanted to do something with shadows to give the photo a different type of feel, and it worked.

This photo was like nothing I have ever shot before and I loved how it turned out. It took a little bit of experimenting with lighting to get the shadow to fall where I wanted it.

I was able to experiment with a couple different techniques and really enjoyed the process to make this photo.

There are so many submissions to this contest each year, so I was surprised and excited to find out I was a finalist. It is pretty cool to have your work recognized.

 

Crystal Knuth

crystalknuthphoto

I was on a volunteer trip in Antigua, Guatemala when I took the photo I submitted for the contest. As our volunteer group was walking back to our house from construction work, we ran into two young boys playing soccer in the street. The two boys had a tremendous amount of energy because they had to keep their ball from rolling down a slanted road. While playing soccer, one of the boys ran up to the side of the building, and I instantly saw the common color of red between the wall of the building, the shirt of the young boy, and the parked motorcycle. I was inspired by the connection of red, and by the added energy the color brought to the picture.

Every photographer has a plethora of pictures, but only a selected few will catch your eye to become some of your favorite work. The feeling you get when you fall in love with one of your pictures is difficult to describe, but the picture I submitted did just that. I submitted this particular picture because I eventually want to travel with photojournalism.

To be named a finalist in the photo contest not only feels great, but serves as a nice confidence boost to keep pursuing my passion in photojournalism. My heart leads me into my dedication of storytelling, and pictures allow me to show the full frame of unseen stories. My ultimate goal is to teach through my work in photography.

 

Allison Tetrick

allisontetrickphoto

I knew I wanted to go for a lighter, fun feel. A lot of the studio work I have seen seems to be serious and that really isn’t me. Luckily, Zoe (pictured) was more than happy to help me bring that idea to life!

As soon as I started taking pictures of Zoe I knew I wanted her to be laughing. This photo in particular, everything just came together. The lighting was pretty much how I wanted and there was no reflection on her glasses.

This photo makes me smile. It is as simple as that. Photography, to me, is more than just taking photos. It is about telling stories and expressing feelings.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

