Savvy LinkedIn Presence Lands Student A Cool Job Before Graduation

7 01 2017

By Jennifer Goldadestudio-session-017-1

I got a job! #hiredbeforegraduation

I am happy to say that I have accepted a full-time position as a content writer with Frazer Consultants in Middleton.

None of this would be possible without everything I have learned from the UW Oshkosh journalism department. The UWO journalism professors have taught me how to write and edit effectively in both traditional and digital formats.

This semester I am taking the New and Emerging Media course. We have created our own blogs, learned about search engine optimization and became inbound marketing certified for digital content through HubSpot, which is a new feature Dr. Sara Hansen added to the class this year.

After watching the HubSpot videos and passing the online exam, I now have an inbound marketing certification badge on my LinkedIn profile.

untitled

I created my LinkedIn profile last semester when I took the Professional Journalism Internship course with Instructor Barb Benish. We learned about the importance of having a professional online presence and creating an online portfolio.

We also learned how to prepare for an interview by researching the company and practicing interview questions. We participated in mock interviews with real employers for jobs in our field.

All of this information I learned were factors for me landing this job. I applied for it with my LinkedIn profile acting as my resume, so I cannot stress enough the importance of keeping your LinkedIn profile accurate and up-to-date.

My online portfolio link is on my LinkedIn profile, so Frazer Consultants was able to see samples of my writing to show I have the skills listed on my LinkedIn profile. The fact I have an inbound marketing certification gave me an edge over other applicants.

I strongly recommend all journalism students take the New and Emerging Media and Professional Journalism Internship courses. All of the skills you learn will help you in your future endeavors and job applications, maybe even getting hired before graduation!

I am excited to start the next chapter of my life after graduation. The journalism department is like family, and I cannot thank my professors enough for their education and support.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

