Making the most of advising…

19 02 2016

By Catie Schultz (@CatieSchultz17)

When you are in college, one of the most stressful decisions to make is deciding which classes to take. You want classes that are interesting and that fit well within your major/minor.

When you look at the process as a whole, it can seem overwhelming and daunting. Fortunately, the UW Oshkosh Journalism Department has great faculty advisers who are willing to help you when choosing your classes.

As a non-traditional transfer student, I was worried about the advising process. I had no clue where to start. Luckily, my journalism advising experience has been painless. I worked one-on-one with my adviser who answered my questions and concerns. A plan was laid out that was beneficial to me based on where I was academically.

Laurin Krekling, a Journalism (Advertising) and Public Relations major, shared her experiences with advising. “As a traditional undergraduate student who has changed my major more than once, I have learned to appreciate how helpful the Journalism Department’s advising sessions are.  This last semester was my first time advising with the faculty, and it helped me a lot. I was able to sit down and personally talk with the adviser one-on-one. I think it helped out a lot that these advisers also taught some of the classes I was going to be in and gave me more of an up-close view,” Krekling said.

The advisers are here to help you complete the program as soon as possible, excel in the journalism program as well as take the best classes that will be beneficial for you and your future career goals.

“They were also very helpful in making sure I graduate as fast as possible. They were able to lay out the rest of my classes for me so I could visually see what the rest of my years here at the university looked like. I think that every student needs to take advantage of this because they can help you from the simple things of picking out classes, to helping you choose your emphasis and even show you internship opportunities,” Krekling said.

Here are some things to remember that will help you with the advising process.

  1. Sign up for the appropriate time and do it early–Signup for advising appointments starts next week. The sign-up sheets are posted outside of each journalism adviser’s office. Journalism classes fill up quickly, so the earlier you see your adviser, the better chance you have of getting into the classes that you need.

Note: Make sure you come early! Students will only have 15 minutes to meet with their advisor, so if you are late, you will lose part of your appointment time.

  1. Come prepared–Bring your current STAR report and come with a general idea of the classes you are interested in taking or have questions about.

Cindy Schultz has sent out an email that gives detailed information about the registration process. Please read the information carefully so you have a stress-free advising experience. For more information on journalism courses that are offered, see the curriculum worksheet.

Happy advising week!

 

 

 

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

