My Journey as an Intern Reporter

30 06 2014

By: Nicole Kiefert (@nicole_kiefert)

In high school I was the photographer of our school newspaper. Here at UW Oshkosh, I’m a copy editor for the Advance-Titan. So having no experience of “writing” at a newspaper before, I was amazed when the managing editor of my hometown paper called to offer me a reporting intern position for the summer.

I walked into the newsroom on my first day completely nervous and extremely unsure. The interview process was rough and rather intimidating. I wasn’t sure if this job was something I wanted yet. The whole job was intimidating. Having the responsibility of researching and interviewing and meeting deadlines kind of scared me.

After I was assigned my desk, introduced to everyone and given my first two story assignments, I had this overwhelming urge to prove myself. I wanted to show myself, my boss and the people I interviewed, who perhaps weren’t sure I could do it, that I most definitely could.

I never realized how stressful it could be when proving yourself relied so much on other people. Other people calling you back, other people giving you good quotes or stories, other people editing your pages correctly.

But I must have done something right because when I turned in my first story it ran a day early on the front page. My very first article ever written was published on the front page of a newspaper. It’s so surreal. I couldn’t stop staring at it. That’s my name and those are my words and here they are for all of Washington County to read.

Of course not all of my stories will turn out this way. But for my very first story to be almost exactly the same as I wrote it, and prominent on the first page – it was amazing.

Hopefully I can get back on the front page someday, but for now I’m just content to be published. I’m proud to have been given such a great opportunity and I can’t wait to keep seeing my name in a byline.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

