Be Creative with Instagram

30 07 2012

By: Ashley Brown (@doubleAbrown5)

As a journalism major, enrolling in different classes has really broadened my thoughts about what my emphasis will be. I have always loved taking pictures, scrapbooking, and designing web pages. So why not pursue a career with a visual emphasis?

Here at University of Wisconsin-Oshkosh, the Journalism Department states that students who are interested in a visual emphasis will learn about classic photography principles as well as cutting edge technology. After reading this, I realized that I have learned a lot about my photography skills by using the innovative photo sharing program, Instagram.

Instagram is a fast, beautiful and fun way to share your photos with friends and family. With Instagram, all you have to do is snap a picture, choose a filter to transform the look and feel, and then post your photo. The best part is that you can share your photos through various social media outlets such as TwitterFacebook and Tumblr.

I use Instagram because I like to create photos the way I see them, and share my creations with followers. I capture images that I can transform into something more exquisite.

Here’s an example: Trees that are not exactly captivating can be turned into something mysterious with a little touch of black and white. Using something as simple as a tree and making it more fascinating to look at is what love about Instagram. It gives you an opportunity to be creative.

My boyfriend is a photo fanatic just like myself. We go to different places and take pictures of anything that catches our eye, then create a masterpiece together using Instagram. Not only can you be an individual when using Instagram, but you can work with friends and family to transform a simple picture into something special.  It is a great way to interact, imagine, share and create your talents.

If you’re thinking about sharing your photos in the Instagram world, it is simple to get started. You can find the mobile app available in Andriod and IPhone app stores or access it through Google Play and other online resources. Don’t be afraid to be spontaneous, take pictures and explore your creative side.

Actions

Information

2 responses

20 08 2012
Ryan Chesney

Blog about me! Check out my Instagram video art project! vimeo.com/ryanchesney/enjoythejourney Read the video description and participate if you’d like! :))

22 09 2012
bsdplanabamat1989

Reblogged this on Mike Burden Diary.

Leave a Reply

