Meet our new social media intern: Sheng Lee

23 09 2011

By Sheng Lee (@Shengdanger)

“To avoid criticism, say nothing, do nothing, be nothing.”
-Fred “the fog” Sherro

My name is Ntxee Yees Lis (English translation: Sheng Yeng Lee). I’m a senior here at the University of Wisconsin Oshkosh. My major is Journalism with an emphasis in writing/editing.

Last year I started my first internship working at the Alumni Pollock House as a writer. It was a great opportunity to meet tons of unique alumni and get to hear their success stories. My favorite would have to be the one-man band, “Schizoid Johnny.” He’s a traveling music act who also is a high school band director. Being a band geek myself in high school, I had a lot of fun talking to him.

Besides writing for UWO’s Alumni Relations office, I am a social media intern for Career Services here on campus. I manage all the Facebook and Twitter posts as well as try to communicate to students all the great opportunities available to them. The last event I attended for my job there was a presentation entitled “Interviewing: the moment of truth” by Chris Czarnik. I got the chance to meet him as well and learned more info than I though I could have in two hours.

I’m a busy gal, but my ambition is the gasoline that fuels my fire. I would encourage all students to immerse themselves in whatever field they’re interested in during college. It’s a great way to meet new people, network and learn about the industry.

Other than dedicating myself to building my career as a journalist, I enjoy spending time with my family and friends. I’m one of seven children and have tons of nieces, nephews, cousins, aunts and uncles. Family is a huge part of my life (literally) as a Hmong-American. Nowadays, it’s rare to find young Hmong adults who can still fluently read and write Hmong, a tribal language, but thanks to my uncle, I am able to do both.

One of my greatest passions is music. I like to look at stages of my life in terms of soundtracks.  I play acoustic guitar and sing occasionally. However, my real passion is discovering new and unique musical artists. Right now, I’m hooked on CocoRosie. They’re a little weird, but I find their music and style to be so inspirational.

Other things I enjoy: cooking, wine and beer (my fiancé is German), animals, fashion, sewing, kids (I plan to have at least 10 kids…maybe) creative writing, the outdoors, film, good TV and reading.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

