Experience as the Fairest

24 02 2011

By Carly Brown (@bcarly106)

When was the last time you attended a fair? If you have to think about it, it has been too long. This summer I had the privilege of advocating for my county fair as the 2010 Dane County Fairest of the Fair.

A little about my background, my name is Carly Brown and I am a junior here at UW Oshkosh majoring in journalism and emphasizing in public relations. I was raised and have worked on my family’s dairy farm my entire life and showed animals at the Dane County Fair since I was seven. I even remember the first thing I showed, it was a pet rock, and I named him Rock.

It all started in May when I was chosen out of five very qualified candidates to be the fairest of the fair. The selection included an individual interview, group interview and a 30-second radio spot. If you think this is a beauty pageant, it’s not. There is no talent or swimsuit portion of the selection process (thank goodness), but if there was my talent would be milking cows. It is a very professional position and as fairest I positively advocate for fairs and agriculture.

Being the Fairest of the Fair meant that I was the official spokeswomen and hostess of the 2010 Dane County Fair. My job for the summer was to promote the fair and get people to experience the great things at the fair such as the animals, rides, free entertainment and the deep-fried fair food.

 

Carly Brown is interviewed after being crowned Fairest of the Fair at the Dane County Fair. (Say that five times fast.)

 

As I attended each appearance I gained more confidence, became a better speaker, and became more poised. I did live radio and TV interviews, podcast videos, newspaper interviews, introduced acts, gave speeches, attended meetings, and even got to hold an albino alligator, and the list goes on for all the experiences I had throughout the summer. I had one of the greatest experiences of my life promoting the Dane County Fair and agriculture.

I also got to network with people through the agricultural business. In my near future I would love to become an agricultural journalist, and being the Fairest of the Fair helped open doors toward a future career.

I hope that I have encouraged you to attend one of Wisconsin’s 76 county, district and state fairs this summer. There is something for everyone at the fair. Go out and explore a great part of Wisconsin.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

