J-Student Receives Award, Internship and Experience at PRSSA Conference

8 11 2010

By Heather Wade (@wadeh78)

Earlier in October, I had applied to be the social media intern for the official podcast of the Public Relations Society of America’s International Conference in Washington D.C., which took place Oct. 14-19. Since I would be in D.C. for the student conference, I thought I would give it a try. The official podcast of the conference is “On the Record…Onlinewith Eric Schwartzman, which is about how technology is changing organizational communications.

On Oct. 12, two days before I left for Washington D.C., I found out that I had landed the internship with “On the Record” and what my duties would be. I was responsible for scheduling interviews with industry-thought leaders and VIPs, preparing background briefs on scheduled guests for the show’s host, coordinating guest appearances on site, and preparing search engine optimized show notes for each interview.

I worked the official podcast camera, while live streaming all the interviews on UStream through the “On The Record…Online” website. I was also in charge of official photos for interviews, along with live Tweeting throughout each interview.

 

Heather Wade Intern

Heather Wade working as the social media intern during the PRSA International Conference.

 

I met professionals at the PRSA International Conference through my internship whom I would have never met at the student conference I met people varying from the senior strategist for emerging media at the Department of Defense, and past PRSA President, Joann Killeen. I also met Johna Burke, the vice president at Burrellesluce, who specializes in media monitoring and measurement.

On Monday of conference, Oct. 18, PRSSA held an Inaugural Ball Awards Ceremony. At this event, awards and scholarships were presented, along with a special tribute to Betsy Plank. Betsy Plank was a public relations leader for many years, and she sadly passed away in May.

Before the conference, I had applied for the PRSSA National President’s Citation in June. I never heard anything, so I just assumed I didn’t get it. This is the reason I was so shocked when Nick Lucido called my name, leading me to have what the others in my PRSSA group call a “pageant face.” I was just so thrilled. The National President’s Citation is one of the highest honors your can receive in PRSSA.

Let me explain the award a little further, because I’m sure you’re wondering what it is.

According to the National President’s Citation application a citation recipient is someone who shows “excellence in public relations, university service, community activities and professional development. A diverse group of students makes PRSSA the nation’s preeminent pre-professional public relations organization. Many of these members go beyond expected service to the Society by contributing nationally or to chapters in a meritorious way. The National President’s Citation was created to celebrate and honor such members.”

 

Heather Wade

Dr. Julie Henderson, journalism professor at UW-Oshkosh, and PRSSA National President's Citation recipient Heather Wade.

 

The announcement that the UW-Oshkosh PRSSA Chapter was looking forward to the most was the winner of Rowan University’s National Organ Donor Awareness Competition.We usually hear how we did in the competition by August or September, and this year they never let us know. We were used to placing every year, but this time we were unsure if we would keep that streak going.  The Rowan University PRSSA President took the stage and began announcing each winner. Our chapter took Honorable Mention, or fourth place, which keeps our streak alive.

I am so proud of the entry that was submitted for NODAC and all the hard work that members put into it. We look forward to an even better campaign this spring.

I had so much fun in D.C.. Out of the three PRSSA National Conferences that I have been to, this has by far been the most enjoyable. I had an internship, won an award, gained so much information from the sessions, and not to mention, got to experience a new city.

Actions

Information

One response

12 11 2010
Johna Burke

Heather-

It was great meeting you at PRSA. You did a great job helping out with the podcast!

Best,
JB

Leave a Reply

