Walk This Way, The Internship of a Lifetime

11 02 2013

By: Taylor Anthonsen (@TaylorAnthonsen)

Great internships can be difficult to come by. I would like to share my unique experience as an intern for motivational speaker, and personal friend, Ronnie Bachman. In my junior year of high school, I was taken to an assembly about bullying and harassment, hosted by Ronnie Bachman. Ronnie was born with a severe birth defect resulting in the amputation of his legs. Having grown up in inner-city Detroit as a double amputee, he has been through a lot and had much advice to share. I saw the faces in the room change as he spoke; the tears glistening under the house lights. Ronnie changed my life that day, but I had no idea what was to come.

24676_1256723774299_6840828_n

I had the opportunity to interview Ronnie on behalf of our student newspaper, The Rowdy Report. That interview became a friendship that will last a lifetime. Late last fall, I decided that I wanted to help to promote Ronnie and his company, Walk This Way. Inspired by the Aerosmith song, the “Walk This Way” message stands for walking Ronnieʼs way: taking a path of kindness and respect despite the negative influences we may encounter.

Because of my efforts, Ronnie has given me the opportunity to be a part of his Walk This Way team as his Media and Public Relations Assistant. While he tours to hundreds of schools and companies this year, I will operate his Facebook page, his recently activated Twitter page and his personal website. Ronnie has an amazing number of people reach out to him. Kids who are bullied in school and their parents are thankful for his inspiring message that changes their children’s lives. I have hired Ronnie to speak here at UWO on behalf of Communication Club this semester. It is my responsibility to solidify all funding for his presentation including co-sponsorships from various campus organizations. He will be speaking on Tuesday, April 9th, at 7:00 p.m. in the Reeve Ballroom in honor of Disabilities Awareness Week. Ronnie will share his inspiring story, explain the importance of acceptance in diverse communities with emphasis on breaking stereotypes, and give tips for overcoming adversity for a successful future.

Thank you for taking the time to read this! I encourage you to attend Ronnieʼs presentation in April. There will be extensive marketing for this event, so check your emails and the posters around campus! Please follow Ronnie on Twitter and check out his Facebook page: Walk This Way Ronnie Bachman. If your organization would like to co-sponsor Ronnieʼs presentation or help with the marketing for his event, email me at anthot18@uwosh.edu! Meeting Ronnie was pure happenstance, but this internship is an example of what great opportunities that can happen if you network and work for a cause that you really care about. It has been my pleasure working for Walk This Way, and I wouldnʼt trade my experience for the world.

Taylor Anthonsen, Steve Tyler from Aerosmith and Ronnie Bachman

Taylor Anthonsen, Steven Tyler from Aerosmith and Ronnie Bachman

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,337 other followers

